

Founded 6 March 1937

Incorporated 8 August 1949

Carolina Bird Club is an incorporated association for the study and conservation of wildlife, particularly birds, chiefly in the Carolinas. Founded in 1937 as the North Carolina Bird Club, it was joined in 1948 by several South Carolina natural history clubs and the name changed to the Carolina Bird Club.

MEMBERSHIP

The Carolina Bird Club, Inc., is a non-profit educational and scientific organization. Dues, contributions and bequests to the club are deductible from State and Federal income and estate taxes. Membership is open to anyone interested in birds, natural history and conservation. The several classes of membership are listed below. Checks should be made payable to Carolina Bird Club, Inc., and sent to CBC Headquarters, Box 1220, Tryon, N.C. 28782.

Regular Membership	\$	3.00
Family Membership	\$	5.00
Sustaining Membership		
Contributing Membership	\$	25.00
Life Membership	\$	100.00
(Payable in four consecutive annual installments.)		
Student Membership	_\$	1.00
Affiliated Club	\$	2.00

THE CHAT

The Chat, as the official bulletin of Carolina Bird Club, Inc., is published quarterly in March, June, September and December. All members not in arrears for dues receive The Chat. Correspondence concerning memberships, changes of address and back numbers should be sent to CBC Headquarters, P.O. Box 1220, Tryon, N.C. 28782. Please notify Headquarters immediately of change of address.

All papers, census reports and notices for publication in *The Chat* should be sent directly to the Editor. However, items intended for the General Field Notes or other departments should be sent to the department editors.

OFFICERS President F.M. (Pat) Probst, P.O. Box 386, Pawley's Island, S.C. 29585

Vice-presidents T. M. Rial, 791 Boardman Rd., Dumbarton Oaks, Aiken, S. C.
Mrs. Edwin W. Winkler, 509 Gardner St., Raleigh, N. C.
Mrs. Harry C. Snavely, 115 Plymouth Ave., Winston-Salem, N. C.
Secretary Mrs. Tommy Dabbs, 2 Dabbs St., Sumter, S. C. 29150
Treasurer
Members-at-large:
Region I—Western North Carolina
Joseph R. Norwood, Charlotte, and Marcus B. Simpson Jr., Statesville
Region II—Eastern North Carolina
Robert J. Hader, Raleigh, and J.A. Meadows, New Bern
Region III—South Carolina
Gilbert J. Bristow, Columbia, and William McIntosh Jr., Charleston
Immediate Past President Mrs. Tommy Dabbs, 2 Dabbs St., Sumter, S. C.

Headquarters Secretary Elizabeth M. Paterson (Mrs. R.G.)