About the Club

Mission Statement

The Carolina Bird Club is a non-profit organization that represents and supports the birding community in the Carolinas through its website, publications, meetings, workshops, trips, and partnerships, whose mission is

Join us — Join, Renew, Donate

The Carolina Bird Club, Inc., is a non-profit educational and scientific association open to anyone interested in the study and conservation of wildlife, particularly birds.

The Club meets each winter, spring, and fall at different locations in the Carolinas. Meeting sites are selected to give participants an opportunity to see many different kinds of birds. Guided field trips and informative programs are combined for an exciting weekend of meeting with people who share an enthusiasm and concern for birds.

The Club offers research grants in avian biology for undergraduate and graduate students, and scholarships for young birders.

The Club publishes two print publications (now also available online). The Chat is a quarterly ornithological journal that contains scientific articles, reports of bird records committees and bird counts, and general field notes on bird sightings. CBC Newsletter is published bimonthly and includes birding articles and information about meetings, field trips, and Club news.

The Club provides this website to all for free.

By becoming a member, you support the activities of the Club, receive reduced registration fee for meetings, can participate in bonus field trips, and receive our publications.

Join, Renew, or Donate now!

Other Resources (NOT sponsored by Carolina Bird Club)

Presidents of the Carolina Bird Club

1938Rev. Francis Craighill
1939–40Claudia Hunter
1941–42Dr. A.D. Shaftesbury
1943H.H. Brimley
1944–45Clara Hearne
1946–47Zora Jensen
1948–49Rhett Chamberlain
1950–51Margaret Wall
1952–53Robert Overing
1954–55 May Puett
1956Fred May
1957Charlotte Hilton Green
1958Mrs. Cecil Appleberry
1959–61Gilbert Bristow
1962–63Harry Davis
1964–65Col. Norme Frost
1965–67James B. Shuler
1968–69Robert P. Teulings
1970, 1976Evelyn Dabbs
1971–72, 1975Pat Probst
1973–74Ida Lee Winkler
1977–78Barbara Lee
1979Bill Wagner
1980–81Ramona Snavely
1982–83Richard Brown
1984George Morgan
1985–86John Watson
1987–88Sid Gauthreaux
1989–90Robin Carter
1991–92John Wright
1993–94Lex Glover
1995–96Teddy Shuler
1997–98Bert Fisher
1999–00Len Pardue
2001–02Van Atkins
2003–04Bob Wood
2005–06Stephen Harris
2007–08Steve Patterson
2009–10Taylor Piephoff
2011–12Marion Clark
2013–14Katherine Higgins
2015–16Irvin Pitts
2017–18Christine Stoughton Root
2019Lewis Burke
2020–21Steve Tracy